“a date which will live in infamy”

Burning_ships_at_Pearl_Harbor

My Uncle Truman was a WWII U.S. Navy veteran. Today is a day to reminisce about him and those like him. I hope we all can come to know and appreciate the values he embodied. In my mind, he was and is an American hero and a leader worthy of emulation. He served on the USS Murphy during WWII. After answering his country’s need and call to service at a moment of historical proportions, he returned home and raised a family. He often told me stories about his experience at Normandy, for the D-Day invasion, wherein he provided support for those trying to get onto Omaha Beach (For those of you who don’t know history, think “Saving Private Ryan’s” opening scene). He said that his life was forever enriched by his service to his country. I am unable to think about his stories, or him, without pausing to ponder the honor, the courage, and the commitment such actions would require. They and he are truly inspirational. Needless to say, this particular uncle was very influential in my life, which, unfortunately, I did not fully comprehend until I was older. He often talked to me about the importance of education and familial responsibilities. Later, I was the first person in my family to graduate from college; his life and his values challenged me to change the family pattern and pursue excellence. Let us remember his generation today.

Leave a Reply

